The Bird is the Word!

It was never done in St. Louis Cardinals history before.

It was never done in MLB history before.

But now, history has been made.

On Sunday, it was announced that the St. Louis Cardinals had not one, not two, not three, not four, but FIVE Gold Glove Award winners! 1B Paul Goldschmidt, 2B Tommy Edman, 3B Nolan Arenado, LF Tyler O’Neill and CF Harrison Bader were crucial pieces to the 2021 Cardinals, not just at the plate, but in the field as well.

And on top of that, it’s the consistency of the fielders as well.

For Goldschmidt, it was his fourth. Edman, one of the most underrated second basemen in all of Major League Baseball, notched his first Gold Glove Award, as did Bader. Meanwhile, Arenado won his ninth straight, and O’Neill won his second straight.

With a new manager, the return of baseball’s best battery in Adam Wainwright and Yadier Molina, and with new management, the ceiling is high for the Cardinals.

But this time, a Wild Card berth won’t cut it.

(Photo Credit: Boston Globe)

Leave a Reply