St. Louis is getting an Arena Football League team in 2024

The Arena Football League is just months away from relaunching. It was announced on Tuesday which 16 cities will host an AFL team in the upcoming 2024.

After a hiatus that lasted over four years, the AFL is relaunching under a new ownership group in hopes to return to action, the organization announced in February. The AFL will relaunch under the investment group F1 Sports & Entertainment, which purchased the rights to the league in January 2022.

Here’s a list of the 16 cities that will be represented:

California (will play in Bakersfield)
Colorado (will play in Denver)
Minnesota (will play in St. Paul)
Louisiana (will play in Lake Charles)
Ohio (will play in Cincinnati)
Oregon (will play in Salem)
St. Louis
Tennessee (will play in Nashville)
Washington (will play in Everett)
West Texas (will play in Odessa)

The AFL suspended play and filed for bankruptcy in 2009 before returning in 2010. The organization folded again in 2019.

“We are extremely proud to share the initial markets that will serve as the foundation of the new era of the Arena Football League,” AFL Commissioner Lee A. Hutton III said. “Fans in each community will have the opportunity to come together and create new identities, new traditions, and new memories to help catapult our league to thrilling heights. We’ve been working diligently to put the league and the respective member teams in the best position to deliver a competitive and entertaining product on the field and we simply can’t wait to return to the original innovators of indoor football in 2024.”

Stay tuned to Interstate 70 Sports Media for the latest updates on this story…

Leave a Reply